Sick Boy

Featured Items: [Cubic cherry] {Drop} (BodyFy)

The Status Quo SL Style!
PSA (Public Service Announcement)

It’s been a long while since I’ve stretch my typing fingers to do one of these and well since Dehr who usually rules this section of my blog with stories is busy with RL, why not? Hope you all enjoy, and maybe take something away from my personal thoughts upon the Status Quo of  Second Life avatar shapes and looks.

Some of you who follow me on other social media may have noticed that I ventured into a new arena in SL known as Modeling and became a L’Homme Guest Model. This, by the way, is Not something I usually take any kind of interest in and I solely did it because a friend of mine wasn’t about to let me get away without applying. I actually kind of fealt bad about it during the application process because the other applicants probably wanted this way more than me; and there I was sitting in my corner not caring really if I won or lost.

Now, some of you might be thinking why am I bringing this up and what does this have to do with the “Status Quo”? Well, I promise it has a lot to do with it but, before I get to that I want to talk briefly about what exactly is the “Status Quo”. Many of you may be very aware of what I mean when I say “Status Quo” in relation to SL avatar shapes and how it effects your SL experience specially when visiting certain sims and such. But, for those who don’t… the “Status Quo” is an outdated notion that your avatar needs to be a certain height and shape (Men: very tall and buff.. Beefy Muscle Man that can grace one of those erotic romance novel covers; Women: not as tall but but don’t skimp and you be damned if you don’t have big boobs and a nice fat booty). And, mind you if you don’t fit this “Ideal” you may end up with many a horror story about being harassed and or banned from sims where they accuse you of things like being a child avi or too girly and the list goes on based solely on whoever’s idea of how your avatar looks. And, yes I too have a few of these horror stories packed away in my 10 years of SL baggage.

But ok, now back to the L’Homme model contest and what this has to do with the “Status Quo”.  One of the questions that was asked of me during the 2nd phase was if I was willing to change my shape and height to fit a certain standard of beauty and consumer expectations. Lets just say good thing I have a sense of class and grace so there was no blood bath. And mind you, there are perfectly good and sound reasons for needing to change your shape for modeling so L’Homme is well within reason for asking this no matter how badly the question was asked…we’re human and to be human is to sometimes error.

For instance due to liquid mesh certain shapes fit better into the look, I actually have several shapes for certain clothes in my inventory, that is what copy/mod is for. And, yes even height can be a reasonable issue for a photo shoot several times when taking pictures with another I’ve actually had to make myself hover and crop the pic at a certain spot to hide the huge height difference between me and the other. Changing my height can actually make it easier on the photographer so once again perfectly reasonable to ask of that.

{Disclaimer Time}
L’Homme and it’s staff is in no way held accountable or should be victim to any type of harassment for what I’m about to say below. I’m using a personal experience that brought on much thought of a bigger issue that effects SL on a larger scale and inspired this particular PSA. These are my personal thoughts and feelings upon the matter (which mind you the L’Homme owner is well aware of how I feel and understands) so they are not responsible or some big evil entity to blame.

So, I reluctantly made a “Tall Ralphie” shape that I tried to keep true to the one you all see on a regular basis here on this blog. But, sadly it wasn’t good enough and Hika sat with me and threw out scale numbers of what he wanted and I did it because it’s not that big of a deal and it’s not like I will be wearing or caught dead in this shape outside of the photo shoots. On the other hand by the time the shape was “perfect” I started to feel rather uncomfortable about it because I was no longer me. It was my head placed on a “Status Quo” body which in my opinion is a noob looking overly muscled and fat avi that makes me want to gag and throw up in my mouth a little when looking at it…but that’s just me though and my personal preferences. It’s perfectly fine and beautiful on someone else but not on me. Kind of like when you see and outfit that is just awesome on a clothing rack or another person but there is no way in hell you’d wear it yourself.

This did get me thinking and questioning a few things though:

This shape isn’t me so should my name even be attached to it or the pictures I have to use this shape in; and do I even want it to be?

Does allowing the change of my shape in this way promote the discrimination and harassment that inflicts certain avatar types on a regular basis?

and

What does this say to my followers and readers who know I’m a big advocator, supporter, and wearer of the less accepted avatars like short cutie pies and femboys?

I’m really conflicted on this matter of conforming to another’s ideal specially when it’s tied to a “Status Quo” that many use to discriminate against those, including me on many an occasion, who don’t fit into that mold. Either way, I want you all to know that even though I have this side project I won’t be conforming my avatar to this outside of the side project.

Maybe what I’m trying to say with this PSA is that I really wish and hope one day SL (where with a few clicks you can be anything your heart desires) will transcend this outdated notion and embrace a true diversity where my “Real” short avatar can grace all things I do including my side projects. But alas, sadly I don’t think it will happen any time soon since SL mimics RL quite often in this aspect and we all know how that’s going.

~Ralphie~

Body:
Hair- *Dura-B&G*77 (Store)
Horns/Face scars- + Kintsukuroi Horns & Tattoo + {aii} (We ❤ RP)
Hands- *katat0nik* Bento Prosthetic Hands (C88)

Outfit:
Hoodie- ::GB::Hoodie Sweat jacket (Store)
Choker- Atomic // Ribbon Choker (C88)
Ear Gauges- [Cubic cherry] {Drop} (BodyFy)

Leave a Reply

